News Security

Armed Forces Council inaugurated


His Excellency the President of the Republic of the Gambia and Commander-In-Chief of the Gambia Armed Forces Mr. Adama Barrow presided over the inauguration and swearing-in ceremony of Members of the Armed Forces Council at the State House in Banjul.

The Council is expected among other things to advise and support the Ministry of Defence and GAF to achieve their mandates. The auspicious event was honorably graced by H.E Badara Joof, the Vice President of the Republic of the Gambia who doubles as the Chairman of the Armed Forces Council.

The President and Commander-In-Chief H.E Mr. Adama Barrow in his remarks, congratulated the Council Members for their well-deserved appointments, noting that the membership selection was done in accordance with the 1997 Constitution; and that the process was subjected to due scrutiny to ensure the right choices were made. The President went on to highlight the great significance of this event stating that the Council’s functionality will be a milestone achievement in implementing the Security Sector Reform agenda. President Barrow thus challenged the Council members to measure up to task.

In a similar vein, the Honourable Minister of Defence, Sering Modou Njie expressed sincere appreciation for the trust bestowed in him with this task. He also emphasized importance of this Council adding that it can greatly assist the Armed Forces to be more effective and efficient to positively impact on the Defence Sector. Minister Njie gave assurance that this given opportunity will be vastly explored in a quest to yield tangible results.

The Vice President of the Republic of the Gambia and Chairman of the Council H.E Badara A. Joof and other Council Members hailed their appointments and promise to live up to expectations with the task at hand.

The Armed Forces Council is comprised of;

1. H.E Badara A. Joof- Chairman

2. Hon. Sering Modou Njie- Member

3. Mrs. Rohie Bittaye Darboe- Member

4. Lieutenant General Yakuba A. Drammeh- Member

5. Major General Mamat O. Cham- Member

6. Brigadier General Turo Jawneh- Member

7. (RTD) Lieutenant Colonel Abdoulie Conteh- Member

Source: Ministry of Defence.

Comments are closed.